One of those days…

Today has just been one of those days… One of the ones that you want to remember and forget at the same time… One of the ones that you can’t believe just happened…

It started out with 2 wake ups in the middle of the night from  Mr. Emmett- 1AM and 5AM and then up again at 6:30.  So to start the day I was already feeling exhausted.

Its my Mom’s birthday but we hadn’t finalized her birthday presents and we were out of milk, so a Target run was on the to do list.  After everyone was fed and dressed with headed to Target and Dicks.  These two trips went relatively smoothly considering I had all 3 kids with me.  After Dicks we had about 30 minutes to kill before heading to the Dr for August’s 18 month check-up.  Mommy mistake #1 was to try to go to a park for 20 minutes to let the kids play and feed Emmett.

The park was OK for about 3 minutes, until August went down a slide that was completely wet.  Next, Shae came up to me (while I was feeding E) and said “Mommy I need to go potty”.  Usually she tells me and then we have a little while, this time however that was not the case.  Within 1 minute  of telling me she had to go potty she had an accident….

Mommy mistake #2 is not having a change of clothes for either kid… and they were both soaked by this point- awesome!  By this point we needed to be at the Dr in 10 minutes, and it was 10 minutes away but both of the big kids were naked.  Cue Gap Kids… I carried August into the store in his tank top and diaper with the carseat on the other arm and Shae holding on to the other end of the carseat… in just a diaper.  Yes, my almost 3 year old who has been potty trained for over a year walked in to Gap in just a diaper… No shame here

We scoured the sale rack for .5 seconds and everyone got a new outfit courtesy of some merch credits that I had been saving for some postpartum wardrobe updates for me- I guess thats not happening any time soon huh?!

Off to the Dr we went… we were only about 10 minutes late and ended up sitting in the waiting room for 30 minutes and then another 15 minutes back in the room.  By the time the Dr came in Emmett was starving/screaming and August was completely exhausted- Mommy mistake #3 was not having any snacks- I definitely should have planned ahead and packed lunch.

After a clean bill of health, and 3 shots for August plus the flu shot for Shae; we walked out of the Dr’s with 3 screaming kids and a pounding head for this Mama…

Now what?  It was after 1PM and the kids usually eat lunch at 12 with naps at 1…. The only fast food on the drive home is McDonalds, so lucky for my kiddos they had their first Chicken Nuggets a la MickeyD’s!  Mommy mistake #4- only getting a 6 piece… I think August would have polished off 6 by himself easily…

McDonalds to the rescue!
McDonalds to the rescue!

Everyone took great naps, which was my only saving grace for the whole day!  Now, off to work for this Mama… my head is spinning and I think I’m juggling too many balls right now- something’s got to give but I just can’t seem to figure out what the right balance for my life is right now.

Makes it all worth it...
Makes it all worth it…
Leave a Reply

