Emmett- 3 Months

3 month olds are tricky.   They aren’t newborns anymore so you have to try to “figure them out” a little bit, but at the same time they are impossible to figure out.  Thank God for this blog…. I know I’ve done this whole baby thing 3 times in 3 years, but I can’t seem to remember anything from kid to kid, and of course each kid is just a little bit different than the last one.  I am constantly consulting the blog on what I did with Shae and August around certain times, and it always gives me something different to try when I look back to see what I was doing/thinking at certain stages.

Happy guy!
Happy guy!
(Taken almost 2 weeks after 3 month mark- obviously doing better on his tummy)
(Taken almost 2 weeks after 3 month mark- obviously doing better on his tummy)
Sweet little man
Sweet little man

Emmett is definitely a mix between Shae and August in almost every sense.  He isn’t nearly as good of an eater as August, but not nearly as bad as Shae either… He isn’t as calm as August in his carseat, but not as horrible as Shae was… He doesn’t sleep as well as August did, but isn’t up as often as Shae was… Do you notice a trend here!?

We had a rough few weeks during this month.  Lots of night waking which meant a tired/irritable Mama which is no fun for anyone.  Luckily though we seemed to have turned a corner towards the end of the month and things are looking up!

Go Cardinals!
Go Cardinals!

Sleep was an issue because for some reason we phased out the “dream feed” and apparently E was not ready for that.  When we weren’t waking him around 10 to feed him he was getting up between 3-4 times a night which was horrible.  Now that I feed him around 10 before I go to sleep he is usually up 1 time to eat and then comes into our room (into his swing) between 5-6AM and sleeps until about 7:30 or so.  Also, I stopped attempting to make Emmett nap in his crib because it was going miserably and was making everyone overtired so for now he takes his long afternoon nap (usually 3 or 4 hours) in his swing.

Happy guy after waking up from a nap in his swing
Happy guy after waking up from a nap in his swing

Emmett is definitely on the smaller side, and while I don’t know what he weighs I do know he doesn’t have near the rolls his big brother did.  He nurses every 2-4 hours during the day.  He will occasionally take a 4oz bottle, but I admit I try to get around pumping every chance I get so pretty much I schedule my life around his eating… such is the life of a Mama.

First time swinging, aka sitting in the swing so I could push the big kids
First time swinging, aka sitting in the swing so I could push the big kids

Emmett has turned into the happiest baby in the last two weeks.  He seriously smiles all the time at people and its adorable!  I can’t get enough of his smiles.  He absolutely loves Shae and will calm almost every time she attempts to soothe him- the sweetest.

Best friends
Best friends

He isn’t a huge fan of tummy time, which is not OK with this Pediatric PT… I still push it every day but he isn’t even close to rolling over, unless you count the few times gravity took him over accidentally.  I know that eventually he will  hit all of his gross motor milestones, but he will probably be a little behind the curve, at least for now.

Chiefs! (hes a big sports fan these days)
Chiefs! (hes a big sports fan these days)

The carseat is probably our biggest issues right now.  This kid seriously hates his carseat.  OK so it isn’t actually the carseat because he doesn’t mind walks and will hang in the carseat and even fall asleep in it at home, but the second you snap that sucker into the car the kid loses it.  I mean all out screaming fits every single time I put him in the car.  And we are in the car quite a bit these days.  I keep thinking he will grow out of it but we are almost at a month of this and I’m about to lose my mind.  Shae is sometimes able to give him his paci which works for about 5 seconds usually.  I hope he grows out of this sooner than later…

We can’t wait to continue to watch our little man grow.  I am not one for limited sleep, so while I am not trying to wish this time away I am definitely ready for some more sleep!

Leave a Reply

