Emmett- 6 months

So much to blog and yet so little time… I think I can, I think I can

IMG_7459

IMG_7473

Emmett Daniel is 6 months! Wahoo!  Looking back on the blog 6 months is always one of my favorite months, because the kiddos come out of the fog of the newborn sleepless stage and start to become real live people.  I will be the first to admit the newborn stage is not my favorite.  Sure, I love the sweet innocence and all of the cuddling with a brand new life, but I also like love to sleep and our family is always on the go.  Both sleep and being fast paced are not super compatible with a newborn, so I try to embrace the stage as much as I can and then I praise God when its over.

Height: 25.5in (10%)

Weight: 16lbs 5oz (25%)

I know everyones dying to know how we are sleeping… well we. are. sleeping! (cue praising God!).  We are still typically up between 1-3 times a night giving E his pacifier and will occasionally (1 time in the last week) give a bottle in the middle of the night, but for the most part Emmett is going down around 7:30 and sleeping until 6 with 1 wake up for his paci around 4.  I think we’ve had 2 nights (ever) where he has gone down at 7:30 and slept until 6, and on those nights Clint and I are both so surprised that the other one wasn’t up in the middle of the night.  E also typically takes 2 or 3 naps in his crib for anywhere between 45 minutes to 2.5 hours.  It is usually 3 shorter naps, and 1 of those is almost always in his carseat, but we are making it work.  I’m already looking forward to just 1 nap a day at the same time as the big kids… slow down Amy

E is eating lots of different fruits and veggies.  He still doesn’t love his oatmeal but does pretty well if we get the banana flavored one.  He loves all fruits and also likes sweet potatoes and carrots, but doesn’t love peas and green beans.  He does mum mums and puffs although he pretty much hates the puffs which I’ve never seen before.  E takes 4 bottles a day anywhere from 4-8 oz. at a time.  I feel like we waste far too much formula because it is so hard to predict how much he will eat for each feeding which is definitely one downside to formula vs nursing.

Goofball with his MumMum
Goofball with his MumMum

Nursing… oh the dreaded topic… Why is this such a hard thing!??!  We stopped nursing at 5 months and 1 week. Phew! I said it and the sky didn’t fall.  Yes, I know it is “best for baby”, but it truly wasn’t best for me anymore and something had to give.  I started having anxiety every night before bed because I would dread having to wake up and feed Emmett.  I felt completely drained, exhausted, and almost resentful and so breastfeeding just had to go.  I was completely torn up about it for the past 3 weeks because I just felt like I was being completely selfish by giving it up, but 3 weeks later I am feeling like it was the best decision for all of us.  Emmett has started sleeping better which means I have started sleeping better.  He’s also been packing on the pounds more… maybe I had low milk supply, or maybe I just wasn’t meant to breastfeed him for a year but either way everyone is much happier now that its in the past.

Emmett continues to be one of the happiest babies.  Every time I take him to the gym daycare the girls comment on how happy and easy he is.  He’s extremely social and still very, very ticklish.  Emmett hates to be in a room by himself, and thats one of the few times he will cry unless he is tired and hungry (hence why he probably hates sleeping in his crib).  I guess thats what you get when you’re the 3rd child of 3 under 3.  E has always loved Shae, and the feeling is very mutual, but August is joining in the fun now too.  August will sit and play quietly with Emmett for several minutes at a time, which is pretty huge to me because it allows me to go to the bathroom without a kid in there- something I haven’t done in about 3 years!

Happy Guy
Happy Guy
Gallagher Construction Co.
Gallagher Construction Co.
Brotherly Love
Brotherly Love

Nicknames: we mainly call him Emmett or “E”.  August still calls him baby a lot of the time.  He also goes by “hubby” and “bubsy” depending on my mood.  Shae also has started nicknaming everyone by the PJs at night- monster-man, digger-man, snowflake-man, and of course she is always cupcake-girl…

 Emmett started static sitting unsupported right around the 6 month mark, and it is probably one of my favorite gross motor milestones.  He loves tummy time and pivots all over the place but isn’t even close to being mobile yet (I’m hoping if I type that he will maybe figure it out?!)

Sitting like a big boy
Sitting like a big boy

I’m thinking this next month will be full of all sorts of teething fun, oh my!  just like the rest of the Midwest, we are ready for warmer weather over here

Leave a Reply

