Emmett- 7 months

The best pic I could get....
The best pic I could get….
This is really how he felt about this past month
This is really how he felt about this past month

Same story, different month.  Emmett is a happy guy, as long as he isn’t alone in his crib in the middle of the night.  I wish I was a fan of co-sleeping, because I think this would be a good way for Emmett to get some sleep, but I don’t think I would sleep very well this way, and I know Clint wouldn’t.  So for now we just continue on… and we will sleep again someday! (I hope)  E has been sick a couple times the past month and when he is sick he is up 6-7 times per night.  When he is feeling well he usually goes down about 7:30 and wakes up around 3-4 for a bottle and then back down until around 7… that is a schedule I can handle!  Up 6-7 times a night…. not so much.

Emmett weighs about 18lbs.  He was at the Dr. twice this past week (one for pink eye, the other to check on his kidney due to fevers- all good!) and both times he was weighed and both weights were different, so 18lbs sounds good for now.

Wearing size 3 diapers and 3-6, 6-12 and even some 12-18 month clothes.  Pretty much he wears whatever hand-me-downs are clean that day… third child problems I guess?!  But I know it doesn’t bother him… maybe someday I will buy him some new clothes, maybe.

He is a super picky eater right now.  He doesn’t want anything too hot or too cold, nothing with too much flavor but not too bland either! Oh man, we are in for it with this one.  A few favorites lately have been meatballs (one of Augusts favorites too), Mum-Mums (finally!) and Gerber Apples and Chicken (gross if you ask me but he loves it…).  He went through a solid week and a half of eating 8 oz bottles 4 times a day with breakfast lunch and dinner in between, but ever since he’s been sick again he is back to rarely taking more than 4 oz from a bottle and even then its not easy.  Still hates rice cereal so I rarely try to give it to him.  We’ve been doing a lot more finger foods, which is so much easier on me when I’m trying to make everyone else dinner, but it makes quite the mess in the highchair- cue dog to clean up!

IMG_0909

Loves feeding himself... enjoying August's leftover pear
Loves feeding himself… enjoying August’s leftover pear

Emmett is rolling all over the place and is rocking on all 4s, but hasn’t figured out how to move forward yet, no army crawling either. I’m fine with it for now though, because I know if I leave him in a room he can’t get too far too quickly.  I know that will all be changing soon though.  He loves to stand at all surfaces but definitely still needs a hand on him at all times when in standing.  He still loves his exersaucer, but likes the Jumper even more.  If I could just teach A and Shae that it isn’t a swing- I can’t leave Emmett in it unless I am right there.

Playing dress up with Shae and Mommy
Playing dress up with Shae and Mommy
First time sitting up in the shopping cart
First time sitting up in the shopping cart
Happy man outside
Happy man outside
"Look Mom! I got it"
“Look Mom! I got it”

Nicknames are mainly E, Emmett, Bubby, and “Memmet” as August likes to call him.

Learning how to play with diggers with the best of them
Learning how to play with diggers with the best of them
Looking good in August's Cardinals hat
Looking good in August’s Cardinals hat

I’ve decided that even though February is the shortest month it definitely feels like the longest.  Just like the rest of the world I am over winter and more than ready for Spring.  We can’t wait for warmer weather, and lots of time outside!

Leave a Reply

