Emmett- 8.5 months

I’m feeling extremely burnt out of these “monthly updates”, which is why E is closer to 9 months by the time I’m writing this.  I know I’ll regret it if I don’t write these things down, but I’m bored with them and I’m sure you are too (if there’s anyone out there that is actually still reading them…).  I’m going to keep this short and sweet and get outside to enjoy some of this beautiful weather when the kids wake up!

Just chilling... this month's pictures were a dreaded task for me
Just chilling… this month’s pictures were a dreaded task for me
Looking so big standing up in his crib
Looking so big standing up in his crib

Emmett is the sweetest and orneriest little guy at 8.5 months.  He definitely is going to give us a run for our money…. I always thought Shae was going to be my difficult child, but I think E may take the cake.  He is a total wild man, crawling all over the place and pulling up to stand.  On Easter morning I went in to get him up and there he was- standing- in his crib.  My jaw about hit the floor… seriously determined little guy.

E gets very frustrated when things don’t go his way and he has this little shriek he does to let you know he is pissed.  It’s actually fairly hilarious at this point, but I’m sure someday (real soon) it will start to get old.  He still absolutely adores his big sister and thinks she’s the funniest person on the planet, and he loves to rough-house with his big brother.  Now I just need to teach August how big he really is!

Happiest when he is swinging!
Happiest when he is swinging!
One of their favorite places
One of their favorite places

Emmett eats just about anything these days.  He has an 8oz bottle when he gets up, breakfast (usually an eggo- I know not healthy…) with the kiddos.  Then he sometimes gets another 4 oz bottle in the morning and sometimes skips that bottle and holds out until lunch.  He is still extremely picky about the water temperature of his bottles, and wants it to be very warm… I mean like he won’t drink it if its just lukewarm- seriously dude?!  E usually eats a yogurt and some baby food for lunch, then sometimes another 4oz bottle before nap.  For dinner he typically eats what we are eating.  Favorites are broccoli, asparagus, meat (hamburger, tacos, pork tenderloin, chicken nuggets, etc), and of course a cookie at the end!  He loves animal cookies and would probably eat 10 if I would let him…

Sleeping has gotten much better over the last 6 weeks.  He started sleeping through the night right around the 1st of March and has only had a few nights of waking up and crying since then (knock on wood!!).  His naps are variable depending on our schedule for the day.  He usually catnaps in the morning and then will most of the time take a 1-2 hour nap in the afternoon in his crib.  This napping schedule has been rough to get on though.  Definitely some long stretches of crying to get him to take a nap in the afternoon while his brother and sister are asleep too.

Favorite sleeping pose
Favorite sleeping pose

Emmett is a very social little guy and will smile and flirt with just about anyone.  He is really ticklish and loves to play “chase” especially with Shae… he gets all excited when we tell him “sissys gonna get you!”

Helping Daddy... no I didn't let him actually touch the nail gun
Helping Daddy… no I didn’t let him actually touch the nail gun
Into everything already!
Into everything already!
Leave a Reply

