Full Hands

Today, like most days, we were walking home from the park and I was pushing a double stroller (with just 1 kid in it of course) chasing after the other two as they ran ahead.  As we walked by a middle-aged woman walking her maltese, she looked me up and down and gave me the ‘ol “MY you’ve really got your hands full!” Yes, yes Ma’am I do… My typical response is “oh I know, its a little crazy at our house”, and every now and then I throw out a “yes, would you like one?” depending on my mood…

Today, however, was the first time Shae commented on it.  She looked up at me and said “Mommy, why do people always say our hands are full?? I have 2 empty hands- they aren’t full!”  Haha… oh sweet girl!  Of course your hands aren’t full, but you are in fact a handful in every sense of the word….

Every now and then I catch myself thinking about what our life would be like if we hadn’t had the 3 kids so close together.  And honestly I just can’t even imagine…. I would likely be a lot less overwhelmed and sleep-deprived, but I know there wouldn’t be nearly as much love in our home and that I just can’t imagine.  I absolutely adore listening to Shae “reading books” to August in his room as I rock Emmett to sleep. Life does not get any more full for me than this right now.

Tonight we gathered as a large extended family to lay my Grandpa Havey to rest.  My Grandma and Grandpa had 10 children- 10?!?!?  Grandma often jokes that I’m on the right path to keep up with her- I’m not so sure.  But I do look around when we are all gathered together as a family and its truly amazing to see all of the love that surrounded Grandma tonight as she said goodbye to her husband of 50+ years.  That is what life is about…. Its about the memories and its about the love.  So despite the long exhausting days, I could not feel more blessed to have 3 little miracles who are my life and my legacy.  And I know Grandpa is watching over all of us now, as proud as ever, with his hands and heart completely full.

Shae and Grandpa Halloween 2014
Shae and Grandpa Halloween 2014
Shae and Grandpa Christmas 2014
Shae and Grandpa Christmas 2014
Grandpa and the boys July 2014
Grandpa and the boys July 2014
Leave a Reply

