11 days

11 days… That was how long Clint was gone a couple of weeks back…  I had some pretty horrible anxiety about this trip for the month or so leading up to it.  When Clint told me he was put on this project at work that would require travel halfway across the world I was immediately overwhelmed by it.  I knew that Diego Garcia was a small island that was in the middle of nowhere, but I had no clue how hard it would be to get to/from this tiny little place.

The trip was supposed to be in the middle of May so we pretty much planned the entire month of May around it.  I scheduled a 2 night trip to Denver to see one of my college best friends, his Mom and Sister scheduled a trip to KC to watch the kiddos, and I made sure to schedule the block party that we were hosting for the weekend after his return.  Of course the trip was postponed the day before he was supposed to leave in the middle of May and rescheduled to the first week in June which threw everything off!  Rather than reschedule our entire lives we tried to just be laid back and keep our already scheduled plans- this was extremely difficult for me and my type A personality.

I traveled to Denver for 2 nights while Clint was still in town and his Mom and Sister, Erin, came to visit.  I was SO appreciative of the little get away before Clint left for a long stretch.  2 nights away with one of my best friends was exactly the refresher I needed, and it made me miss my babies too, which was a helpful reminder in the following weeks.

I returned on Friday afternoon and Clint left first thing Saturday to head to Tokyo.  From Tokyo he traveled to Yokota AFB where he was supposed to board a military flight (yes, in the cargo of a military plane) to Singapore.  This flight was delayed a day, of course, which ended up pushing them almost 2 days behind from the start.  He finally landed in Diego Garcia on Tuesday to start working on the project.  So he left KC Saturday and reached his destination Tuesday- yuck!  As soon as he made it to the island it was posted on the DG Facebook page that the flight he was supposed to take off of the island (on June 5th) was cancelled… which then meant he was stuck until another flight decided to leave… June 7th.  This entire experience has given me a whole new level of respect for those who serve in the military and their families.  To have your entire lives up in the air and never knowing exactly when flights are going to come and go is extremely difficult.

The military flight on this does not sound very comfortable...
The military flight on this does not sound very comfortable…

So instead of getting home early Saturday morning Clint flew into KC on Tuesday, extending his trip from 7 days to 11 days.  We were SO glad to have him safely back in KC after a literal trip around the world in 11 days.  And I think he was glad to be home too…

Clint’s 2015 Trip around the world

KC>CHICAGO>TOKYO>YOKOTA>SINGAPORE>DIEGO GARCIA>SINGAPORE>DUBAI>DALLAS>KC

Flight path
Flight path
Not a bad view from the plane (no clue where in the world this is though...)
Not a bad view from the plane (no clue where in the world this is though…)
Looks beautiful, huh?!
Looks beautiful, huh?!

IMG_0564

They were able to hop on a boat and fish 1 day
They were able to hop on a boat and fish 1 day

IMG_0465 IMG_0447

Singapore... Apparently a really cool city- hoping that I get to go someday!
Singapore… Apparently a really cool city- hoping that I get to go someday!

While Clint was world traveling the kids and I relied very heavily on family to help out.  Clint’s Mom and Sister stayed until Sunday morning to watch the kids while I went to my cousins wedding.  Then on Monday I packed the kids up and we headed to my parents lake house for the week.  It rained every. single. day. which made the week seem to drag on even more, but we had some good times too!  I hosted our neighborhood block party on Saturday which was a great time!  Luckily, I had hired our babysitter to come help out with the kids as soon as Clint’s trip was rescheduled because I had a sneaky suspicion things may work out this way.  All of the neighbors pitched in to help out a ton and the block party was a smashing success.  I can’t wait to host again next year, and have Clint home to help too.  This trip not only gave me a greater appreciation for the military and their families, but also for single parents.  I had help almost every single day and I was still utterly exhausted, emotionally and physically by the end of the 11 days.  I can not thank our families and friends enough for everything they did to help us out during this marathon of a work trip… Now, we just get to wait until February when Clint gets to make another trip to Diego Garcia.

We had fun too!  Block party fun
We had fun too! Block party fun
SO glad when Clint made it home!
SO glad when Clint made it home!
Lake fun!
Lake fun!
Not a bad driver for an 11 month old
Not a bad driver for an 11 month old
Leave a Reply

