4th of July 2015

The 4th of July has always been my favorite holiday.  I think it is because my birthday is July 1st, and I love to carry on the celebration for the entire week.  My other favorite part of the 4th is spending it at the lake.  The tradition began when I was 3 days old and my Mom took me to Lake Viking for my first 4th of July.  From there I have been at the lake for *most* of the 4th’s that I have celebrated (minus a few years in college- Busch Stadium was a pretty good replacement).  This year was the first year we were able to spend the 4th of July at my parents new lake house at Lake Lotawana and we were pretty excited about it!

I had a little too much fun on the 3rd of July which significantly decreased my alcohol consumption on the 4th (to zero… wah wah).  But of course, we managed to have a great time with family and friends!

Celebrations began on July 3rd
Celebrations began on July 3rd
This girl and "my boys"
This girl and “her boys”
Great times already on this boat
I just love these two
Everyone loves Nana's cookies
Everyone loves Nana’s cookies

Our good friends, the Murphys, joined us on the 4th for day drinking on the dock while the kids napped… this setup couldn’t be more perfect and fun.  We joined the Gossman’s for a little bit of dessert and some pre-fireworks face painting.  I just love family traditions and good family friends to share them with.

This one was up bright and early for the celebrations (5:45 to be exact)
This one was up bright and early for the celebrations (5:45 to be exact)
I love lifelong besties
I love lifelong besties
Gallagher crew in their 4th of July Swimwear
Gallagher crew in their 4th of July Swimwear
The only after dinner picture I got of all 3 of them...
The only after dinner picture I got of all 3 of them…

We watched the fireworks from my parents boat… and of course Uncle Doodles had to make it exciting by almost jumping in the lake to go to the bathroom when it was completely dark… never a dull moment with that one.  Shae asked several times if Uncle Doodles was awake during the fireworks because last year he fell asleep.  He was more than just awake- he spent almost the entire time complaining about having to go to the bathroom! Maybe next year we will leave him at home…

Gallagher Crew at the front of the boat
Gallagher Crew at the front of the boat
Baby's first fireworks show! And he even stayed awake for some of it... and then cried the entire drive home
Baby’s first fireworks show! And he even stayed awake for some of it… and then cried the entire drive home
There is no better way to celebrate this amazing country we are blessed to live in
There is no better way to celebrate this amazing country we are blessed to live in.   God Bless the USA
Leave a Reply

