Summer catch up

I’ve been struggling a lot lately with this blog and “what I want it to be”… I feel like now that I am home more I should have more time to sit and blog, and honestly I do, but at the same time I don’t feel like I have much to blog about… I have my favorite blogs that I love catching up on, and somehow they all manage to keep me coming back for more.  But my own blog is just so…. boring.  Do I want to write more about my kids? or fashion (that I know nothing about)? Or should I just become a professional photographer (I mean come on- my artistic ability is nill)?  So anyways, I’m struggling about what to do with this space… Until I figure it all out I guess I’ll just write when I feel like it and stop stressing about it so much.

This past weekend we did a lot of work around the house, and had some fun too.  We are nearing the end of the kitchen remodel and I am beyond ready to be done.  We, almost, got the new range/cooktop hooked up.  We had to run a gas line through the house to the new cooktop (so pumped to have gas again!) so that was quite a project in itself.  Granite should be installed Thursday and I can’t wait!

Range installed- can't seem to figure out how to turn the oven light off though... always something!
Range installed- can’t seem to figure out how to turn the oven light off though… always something!

We had our 73rd Terr Block Party on Saturday evening, and as always its one of my favorite times of the year.  We absolutely adore our old block, and miss our neighbors dearly, so when we get to go down and catch up with everyone it is just the best.  The kids had so much fun (except Shae wouldn’t run through the fire hose with the boys- she says “next year I will”…) that we ended up staying until 10pm!  I was sure everyone would sleep in Sunday morning, but nope! 7am wakeup calls from E- always.

they LOVED the firetruck... Shae was more undecided
they LOVED the firetruck… Shae was more undecided
A little dirt on the face shows character right?! Watching the firetruck pull away
A little dirt on the face shows character right?! Watching the firetruck pull away
I'm not sure who loved this thing more
I’m not sure who loved this thing more

Sunday we spent the day at the lake with my parents and sister, and had a blast as always.  There’s just something about spending the day at the lake that is so “summer” and I love that we are blessed enough to share this with our kids too.

Driving the boat with Papa
Driving the boat with Papa
I swear he was having fun... and he doesn't really mind the life jacket despite the look on his face
I swear he was having fun… and he doesn’t really mind the life jacket despite the look on his face

I can’t believe that July is almost over, and I’m starting to think about back to school…. I’ll be glad to get back into a routine and have a few new Moms groups starting up which will be fun to be a bit more social during the week.  I start feeling awfully isolated during the week, so having other Moms around to chat with will be really nice.  I’m hoping we can soak up quite a bit more pool time in the next month or so!

Leave a Reply

