Halloween 2015

For as long as I can remember Beauty and the Beast has been my favorite Disney movie.  There’s just something about “Tale as Old as Time” that gets me every time.  I remember wanting to be just like Belle, walking around with my nose in a book, when I was little- that was the attribute that I identified with most of all of the princesses.  Oh, how I can’t wait to get my nose stuck in a book again someday…

This year, I started planning for Beauty and the Beast sometime in late July or early August, but I didn’t actually start working on the costumes until mid September which was pretty late for me.  I was adamant that I wanted Emmett to be Chip, but Clint was just as adamant that the costume just wouldn’t work for our little man (for ONCE I was right!).

Things I learned from making the costumes this year: only buy tulle, fleece and felt, and make anything you can out of those 3 fabrics.  I am definitely not a master seamstress, so anything other than those 3 is just too tricky for me.  I absolutely love tulle for girls costumes- I mean it just doesn’t get much easier than a tutu… And fleece is so easy to work with, and the edges don’t have to be finished for a costume which is just fantastic.

August could not have been more excited to be the Beast this year.  The kids hadn’t even seen the movie until the week of the first party, but I think we talked up the whole Beast thing enough to last a lifetime.  Shae always loves to dress up in princess dresses so I knew Belle would be a homerun.  And then there was Emmett… The first time he went in the costume I was just sure that it was doomed.  He absolutely hated it and lasted no more than 30 seconds.  The second time, however, I got a little smarter and was prepared with plenty of fruit snacks for bribery.  A few more times of wearing the costume around the house and it was a done deal!  He hardly even noticed it was on after awhile (but don’t ask him to bend over and pick anything OR sit down…)

Testing out the Chip costume
Testing out the Chip costume

We, like everyone else, had plenty of opportunities to wear our costumes this year.  We had a blast celebrating for weeks straight, and the icing on the cake was trick or treating in our neighborhood on Halloween night with some of our favorites!

Annual trip to Daddy's office to trick or treat
Annual trip to Daddy’s office to trick or treat
At the SMA MOYC Halloween Party
At the SMA MOYC Halloween Party
BBM Halloween party
BBM Halloween party
Beast was spreading the love
Beast was spreading the love
Visiting the Great Grandparents on Halloween morning
Visiting the Great Grandparents on Halloween morning
Almost time to Trick or Treat!
Almost time to Trick or Treat!

Until next year….

Beauty and the Beast
Beauty and the Beast
One thought on “Halloween 2015

Leave a Reply

