(Over)Commitment Issues

Overcommitment seems to be the name of the game for 2016-2017 in the Gallagher household.  For some reason I felt that I needed to say “yes” to everything and “no” to nothing and that has definitely made me feel like we are running on overdrive almost all of the time… and its also the reason for the horrible job I’ve done blogging (somethings gotta give!)

I’ve been attempting to:

  • help my Dad with the family side gig of boat/RV storage
  • help run the accounting for my Brothers startup construction company
  • be President of the Mothers of Young Children group at church
  • be a coordinator for Vacation Bible School at church
  • be an active member of a Bible study and two separate playgroups
  • workout a few times a week
  • run a household
  • get my kids involved in extracurricular activities (gymnastics, swim, soccer, t-ball)
  • be a Mom, wife, sister and friend

… and with all of this attempting comes a lot of moments of feeling like I’m absolutely failing.

One of the biggest challenges of motherhood for me has been figuring out how to feel like myself while raising my children.  It is an impossible thing to explain, especially for me- someone who always knew one of the only things I wanted out of life was to be a Mom!  For some reason though “just being a Mom” isn’t all I dreamed it would be.  Yes- I adore my kids as much as the next person, but I also really struggle with feeling like my only responsibility in life is raising good kids.  I mean that is a HUGE overwhelming task, and a lot of days I feel like I’m utterly failing.  I truly wonder more often than not if my kids would be better kids if they weren’t around me 90-100% of the time? Shouldn’t there be some more balance?!

Balance is something that I know everyone struggles with, so I try to give myself grace and remember that I’m not alone in feeling this way.  I keep reminding myself that we have big changes around the corner- Shae will start full time Kindergarten in the Fall and all 3 kids will be in school for a couple of days a week!  So I’m trying to soak up the last bit of time we have before we are a “grade school family”- crazy!  But I’m also craving something else, something for me to feel more like me…

I read back through my blog and it was exactly 2 years ago that I made the decision to quit working as a part time Physical Therapist to focus more on my family.  In that post I talked about enjoying the little things and spending more time focusing on my family.  I definitely think I’ve achieved that, but I’ve also felt a constant ache for something more.  I know that I’m not ready to commit to anything substantial and don’t feel that PT is my calling right now

So, with all of the extra commitments I’ve made this past year I’m making one more.  I’m committing to getting my real estate license.  Totally crazy, but something that I’ve been wanting to do for a couple of years now.  Real Estate completely fascinates me and I spend more time on Zillow and the local real estate apps than I’d like to admit.  Also, with my brother’s business taking off he needs some extra help with listing his flips so that is where I’m going to start! I”m not sure exactly where this road is going to take me, but I’m really excited to find out.  I’m excited to have something “for me”

(I wrote this post 4 months ago…. but never hit publish!  In the past 4 months things have gotten busier and slower at the same time.  I’ve delegated and taken on more… balance- I’m still working on it 😉 )

Leave a Reply

